

ABA Names Three Mutual Bankers to Ten Member Board

October 24, 2018 – New York City, NY – The American Bankers Association (ABA) announced it has elected Jeff Szyperski, chairman, president, and CEO of Chesapeake Bank, Kilmarnock, VA as the new 2018-19 ABA Chairman. Ten new board members were also elected during the Annual Convention, including three CEOs of mutual banks; Brad Paige, CEO of Kennebunk Savings Bank, Kennebunk, ME, Pat Weigel, CEO of Norway Bank, Norway, ME, and Dan Yates of Battleboro Savings and Loan, Battleboro, VT. While we continue to support more mutual participation in the ABA, we note that the convention agenda had few if any topics devoted to issues of exclusive or primary concern to mutual banks.